As at midday of April 1, five African countries have not recorded any case of the coronavirus. The countries; Malawi, Comoros, Lesotho, South Sudan and Sao Tome and Principe are presently considered virus-free.

However, 49 countries have officially recorded cases with over 100 deaths.

The most impacted nations per region as at the time of filing in this report as referenced from the African Union’s Africa Centre for Disease Control (Africa CDC) are;

Southern Africa = South Africa; 1,353 cases, 5 deaths, 50 recoveries

East Africa = Mauritius; 147 cases, 5 deaths, 0 recoveries

West Africa = Burkina Faso; 261 cases, 14 deaths, 32 recoveries

Central Africa = Cameroon; 223 cases, 6 deaths, 5 recoveries

North Africa = Egypt; 710 cases, 46 deaths, 157 recoveries

The classifications are based on where the countries are located especially in the case of countries that belong to two different blocs.

Experts have stressed that it is only a matter of time before these countries likely detect cases even though much of the continent is closing borders to combat spread and improve the containment of confirmed cases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.