After a mild drama that played out at Senate president, Bukola Saraki’s house and that of Senator Ike Ekweremadu by men of the Nigerian police, the senators finally found their way into the National Assembly to preside over plenary.

Top on the plenary session was the defection announcement by the senate president that 15 members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, have abandoned the party for the opposition, the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

On the defection list were Barnabas Gemade, Dino Melaye,  Dr. Lanre Tejuoso, Senator Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi.

Others include; Senator Muhammad Ubali Shitu, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, Senator Isah Misau, Senator Suleiman, Othman Hunkuyi, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu, Senator Abdulahi Danbaba, Senator  Usman Bayero Nafada, Senator Sulaiman Mohammed Nazif, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso and Senator Abdullazeez Nyaku.

The massive defection at this moment, makes APC the minority party.

Recall that early Tuesday, 24th July, police men laid siege on Saraki and Ekweremadu’s homes in order to prevent them from making it to the National Assembly.

It appeared that the plan by some NASS members to decamp from APC had gotten to the ears of the police, who attempted to mar the plan but failed to succeed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.