Today marks the second day of the D8 ministerial summit going on in Abuja, which started yesterday and is scheduled to end before the end of the week.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Tuesday called on ministers of industry, trade and investment from the developing eight countries to fashion out workable strategies that would boost the level of industrial cooperation and economic integration among them.

He said this while declaring open the sixth D-8 Ministerial Meeting in Abuja.

The D-8 was established in 1997 to primarily promote industrial and other economic activities in the global economy using the same platform to fast-track the position of member countries’ activities.

Countries that make up the D-8 are Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

Osinbajo said maintenance of peace and justice in the D-8 countries was necessary, especially with the social upheavals, conflicts and tensions flaring up everywhere.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *