The national coordinator of the Nigerian Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), Chikwe Ihekweazu, on Monday, October 9, announced that the monkey pox outbreak may have spread to 7 states in Nigeria.

Media sources report that Ihekweazu said suspected cases of the disease have been reported in 6 states after the initial discovery in Bayelsa on September 22.

He listed the states likely to have been affected as:

1. Bayelsa

2. Rivers

3. Ekiti

4. Akwa Ibom

5. Lagos

6. Ogun

7. Cross Rivers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from African Probe

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading